ashleyandandrew

Blogging Away!

How the news was spread… April 7, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — AshleyNDavis @ 4:48 pm
Tags: , ,

So as I told a good friend throughout this whole process of telling people about moving to Costa Rica, next time I choose to move to a foreign country I will go about it differently… like perhaps with a legitimate plan. But really, where’s the how-to guide on sharing that information with the world?

As it turns out, there are many great laughs on the whole situation looking back. The very first people to hear about us potentially moving to Costa Rica were our adult small groups. They are truly the people who prayed us through this process. A friend in my small group recently told me that they watched us receive this calling from God, watched us struggle with the calling, then watched us accept this calling and begin to carry it out… and what an amazing ride it’s been!

We struggled with telling a few people in our lives for a variety of reasons- how sad they’d be to see us leave for a year or perhaps how disappointed they’d be to see us leave great jobs… Whatever the case may be, there was anxiety involved.

In an interesting twist of fate, Les Miles (head coach of the LSU football team) was staying at the PV Lodge and began talking to Andrew one day. In that conversation Andrew boldly took the opportunity to tell him about FSM and our plans to move there for a year. Les was on board! The funniest part about that story was the LSU coach knew about our plans before Andrew’s dad did, and he’s the biggest Alabama fan I have ever come across. It’s all fun and games until you start sharing secrets with your rivals! :)

I went to a missions conference in February to one of my favorite churches, Chapin UMC. This was of course prior to some very important people in our lives finding out. Before I knew it, I was being introduced to the congregation and our plans to move to Costa Rica quickly followed. We just added a few hundred strangers to the list of people that already knew in no time at all.

A few weeks ago, I was asked to pray for Pastor Maiko and FSM as part of our ‘Dear Church’ series. After I finished praying and went back to my seat, Pastor Jerry announced to our home congregation that Andrew and I were moving. By this time, it was already announced on Facebook meaning most of everyone I knew had already found out… except perhaps one person who has no idea what Facebook even is…

The last major person to find out is my 90 year old grandma from the Ukraine. I visit her every week and we normally go to lunch so she can get out of the house. She’s easily one of my favorite people on this earth and I was terrified to tell her that our weekly meetings were going to come to an end for a year or so while I was away for fear that she’d be so sad to see me go. So over lunch yesterday, she asked when I was going to Puerto Rico next (as she consistently confuses the two countries). As I tell her the plans, I explain that some people will never get the chance to live in another country or perhaps never take the chance. She’s lived in the Ukraine, Germany, and the United States. She proceeds to tell me that out of the three, this one is her favorite and adds “make sure you come back to this one!”

And that’s the way it was!

 

Leave a Reply

